Click here for awards and other publication information.


2023            Issam El Naqa Inducted into the 2023 Class of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows

2021              Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize in Medical Physics for 2021
                        (Vallieres, 2015).

2021              IEEE Fellow “for contributions to machine learning applications in medicine and imaging”

2020              NRG Publication award “NCTN Assessment on Current Applications of Radiomics”, Nie et al

2020              Editor's Choice in Med Phys "Quantum algorithm for RT planning optimization" Pakela et al.

2020              Moffitt Distinguished Scholar

2020             Medical Physics Journal covers

2019              Editor's Choice in Med Phys "Cherenkov emission-based external radiotherapy" Zlateva et al.

2018              PMB Rotblat medal for most cited paper in past 5 years (Vallieres, 2015)

2018              AAPM Science Council Recognition

2018              Best of ASTRO (physics) (El Naqa et al.)

2017              AAPM Fellow “for contributions to medical physics”

2017               AAPM Science Council Recognition

2016              IEEE Senior member

2016              Best of ASTRO (physics) (El Naqa et al.)

2016              Young investigator symposium, COMP, (Hickling et al., Zlateva et al., Boustead et al.)

2015              PMB Editor’s choice publication (Vallieres et al.)

2012-2015   Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) scholars

2012-2015   Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ) scholars, ranked 1st in the competition

2014              Medical Physics Author’s choice publication (Lee et al.)

2014              Basic Science Abstract Award, ASTRO (Zlateva et al.)

2014              Best in Physics at ASTRO

2014              Young investigator symposium, AAPM (Hickling et al, 1st place).  Selection in

                       (2015 Markel et al.)

2014              Best in Physics at AAPM. Selection as well in 2015

2014              Radiotherapy and Oncology “Outstanding Reviewer Award”

2012              Red journal Outstanding reviewer

2013              Red journal Outstanding reviewer

2012              Medical Physics journal “Outstanding Reviewer of 2012” and Associate Editor in 2020

2007             Medical Physics Journal covers

2006            AAPM special recognition at Science Council Research Symposium, also in (2008, 2010, 2013)

2002            Highest Standards of Academic Achievement award, IIT

1998             Young Investigator Award (1st place), Amman, Jordan

1996             Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (DAAD) scholar