People


 

Robert J. Gillies, PhD:

Vice Chair of Radiology, Director of Molecular and Functional Imaging

Biosketch

Education:

  • University of California, Irvine (1974): B.S. Biology
  • University of California, Davis (1979): Ph.D. Zoology
  • Yale University (1980): Post. Doc. Molecular Biophysics

Robert Gillies has received numerous local, national and international awards for his teaching and research, including Researcher of the Year 2012 (Moffitt Cancer Center), Furrow award for innovative teaching (U. Arizona), the Yuhas award for radiation oncology research (U. Penn) and the TEFAF professorship (U. Maastricht) a named Fellow of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and the distinguished Basic Scientist award from the Academy for Molecular Imaging. Dr. Gillies' vision for the Moffitt imaging initiative includes development of new applications to diagnose, predict and monitor therapy response using noninvasive imaging. This work spans a breadth from molecular and chemical work, to animal studies and to human clinical trials and patient care. Dr. Gillies also leads a post-doctoral/resident training program in cancer imaging. His research is focused on functional and molecular imaging of cancer, specifically with an emphasis on the use of imaging to inform evolutionary models of carcinogenesis and response to therapy.


 

Collaborators


 

Robert A. Gatenby, MD:

Dr. Gatenby and Dr. Gillies have collaborated together for almost 10 years now at Moffitt Cancer Center. 

Robert A. Gatenby, MD is the Chairman of the Department of Radiology at H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Co-Director of the Cancer Biology and Evolution Program. He joined Moffitt in 2008 from the University of Arizona where he was Professor, Department Radiology and Professor, Department of Applied Mathematics since 2000. He received a B.S.E. in Bioengineering and Mechanical Sciences from Princeton University and an M.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1977. He completed his residency in radiology at the University of Pennsylvania where he served as chief resident. Bob remains an active clinical radiologist specializing in body imaging. While working at the Fox Chase Cancer Center after residency, Bob perceived that cancer biology and oncology were awash in data but lacked coherent frameworks of understanding to organize this information and integrate new results. Since 1990, most of Bob's research has focused on exploring mathematical methods to generate theoretical models for cancer biology and oncology. His current modeling interests include: 1. the tumor microenvironment and its role in tumor biology. 2. evolutionary dynamics in carcinogenesis, tumor progression and therapy. 3. information flow in living systems and its role in maintaining thermodynamic stability.


 

Matthew B. Schabath, PhD:

Dr. Matthew Schabath is an Assistant Member in the Department of Cancer Epidemiology. He received his Ph.D. in Epidemiology from the University of Texas in 2003 and has over 16 years of experience studying tobacco-related diseases including lung cancer, bladder cancer, COPD, and heart disease. Dr. Schabath has over 65 peer-reviewed publications, of which over 60% are related to lung cancer and pulmonary disease.

Dr. Schabath’s current research portfolio as it relates to lung cancer has expanded to investigating: i) the interplay of quantitative imaging and genomics on lung cancer patient outcomes, ii) diagnostic and predictive quantitative imaging models in lung cancer screening, iii) germline and somatic mutations on lung cancer treatment response and patient outcomes, and iv) predictive and prognostic gene expression signatures in lung cancer treatment response. Dr. Schabath’s research portfolio has also expanded to include infectious disease research and health disparities research including sexual and gender minority (SGM) populations and racial/ethnic minority groups. In addition to his primary research interests, Dr. Schabath is active within the scientific community as a regular reviewer for numerous journals, a member of the NCCN Lung Cancer Screening guidelines committee, and is on the editorial boards of Molecular Carcinogenesis, Cancer Research, BMC Cancer, PLOS ONE, and Cancer Medicine.


 

Yoga Balagurunathan, PhD:

Dr. Balagurunathan’s research is focused on understanding the physiology of the tumor and its relationship to the underlying genome. His interests include data integration from various modalities (radiology, pathology, genome) to improve clinical decision support, His disease foci are prostate cancer, lung cancer and B-cell lymphomas. 


 

Administration


 


Rachel Snayd, MHA

Grants Administrator

Rachel.Snayd@moffitt.org


Fiorella Lanatta

Grants Administrator Associate

Fiorella.Lanatta@moffitt.org


 

Wet Lab


 


Dominique Abrahams, MS

Research Project Specialist

Dominique.Abrahams@moffitt.org


Stan Avdieiev, PhD

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Stanislav.Avdieiev@moffitt.org


Mehdi Damaghi, PhD

Research Scientist

Mehdi.Damaghi@moffitt.org


Veronica Estrella, MS

Research Associate and Lab Manager

Veronica.Estrella@moffitt.org


 


Crystal Griffith

Research Associate

Crystal.Griffith@moffitt.org


Arig Ibrahim Hashim, PhD

Research Scientist

Arig.IbrahimHashim@moffitt.org


Bryce Ordway, PhD Candidate

Cancer Biology Graduate Student

Bryce.Ordway@moffitt.org


Bruna Victorasso Jardim Perassi, PhD

Post-Doctoral Fellow

Bruna.Perassi@moffitt.org


 


Smitha R. Pillai, PhD

Research Scientist

Smitha.RavindranadhanPillai@moffitt.org


Thomas Sherlock

Research Associate

Thomas.Sherlock@moffitt.org


Mustafa Bin Urfi

Research Associate

Mustafa.Urfi@moffitt.org


Liping Xu, PhD

Research Scientist

Liping.Xu@moffitt.org


 

Radiomics/Dry Lab


 


Alberto Garcia

Research Data Coordinator

Alberto.Garcia@moffitt.org


Wei Mu, PhD

Applied Post-Doctoral Fellow

Wei.Mu@moffitt.org


Jin Qi, PhD

Applied Post-Doctoral Fellow

Jin.Qi@moffitt.org


 

Cores


 

Quantitative Imaging Core graphic

QIC

The Quantitative Imaging Core (QIC) provides centralized quantitative image analysis services as vital tools for clinical, translational, cancer biology, immunology and epidemiology research. QIC maintains the abilities for standard tumor response evaluation measurement and segmentation, imaging data management, and standard/advanced image processing plus multispectral image analysis, radiomics and pathomics.


 Natarajan Raghunand

Natarajan.Raghunand@moffitt.org


Olya Stringfield

Olya.Stringfield@moffitt.org


Mahmoud Abdalah

Mahmoud.Abdala@moffitt.org

 

 

SAIL

The Small Animal Imaging Laboratory (SAIL) Core provides advanced and affordable multi-modality imaging services including consultation, imaging and image analysis for both basic and translational research. As a cutting-edge research facility, SAIL offers state of the art instrumentation including a 7T MRI, multimodal PET/SPECT/CT as well as optical modalities. 


Epi Ruiz

Epifanio.Ruiz@moffitt.org


Mikalai Budzevich

Mikalai.Budzevich@moffitt.org


William Dominguez-Viqueira

William.DominguezViqueira@moffitt.org

 

 


 

Radiology Research


 


Shamanie Tirbene

Research Database Coordinator

Rajwantee.Tirbene@moffitt.org


 

Secondary Appointments


 


Jung Choi, MD, PhD

Associate Member Diagnostic Imaging / Radiology

Jung.Choi@moffitt.org


​Kujtim Latifi, PhD

Assistant Member Physicist

Kujtim.Latifi@moffitt.org


Eduardo Moros, PhD

Senior Member Physicist

Eduardo.Moros@moffitt.org


 


Nainesh Parikh, MD, MBA

Assistant Member Diagnostic Imaging / Radiology

Nainesh.Parikh@moffitt.org


Geoffrey Zhang, PhD

Senior Member Physicist

Geoffrey.Zhang@moffitt.org


Jingsong Zhang, MD, PhD

Associate Member Genitourinary Oncology

Jingsong.Zhang@moffitt.org


 

Extended Family (Non-Gillies Lab Contributors)


 


Nella Delva, PhD Student

Nella.Delva@moffitt.org


Asmaa El-Kenawi, PhD

Asmaa.Elkenawi@moffitt.org


 


Yun Pyo Kang, PhD

YunPyo.Kang@moffitt.org


Viktoriya Marusyk

Viktoriya.Marusyk@moffitt.org


Daria Miroshnychenko, PhD

Daria.Miroshnychenko@moffitt.org


 


Praneeth Sudalagunta, PhD

PraneethReddy.Sudalagunta@moffitt.org


Enakshi Sunassee, PhD Student

Enakshi.Sunassee@moffitt.org


Robert Vander Velde, PhD Student

Robert.VanderVelde@moffitt.org


Nathan Ward, PhD

Nathan.Ward@moffitt.org


 

Gone-But-Not Forgotten


 


Connie Schmitt (Ret.)

Connie.Schmitt@moffitt.org