Current Lab Members

Chris Wilson

Chris Wilson is an Applied Research Scientist in the Fridley Lab at Moffitt Cancer Center. He received his MS and Ph.D. from the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Clemson University. His research involves developing integrative omic machine learning tools for personalized medicine and using deep learning for cell type classification with single-cell data.


Oscar Ospina is a NCI T32 fellow in the “Cancer Biology and Data Science” program at Moffitt Cancer Center. He received his PhD in Biological Sciences from the University of Puerto Rico. His research has been in population-level diversity (genome and transcriptome) in multiple biological systems and its link with phenotypic and behavioral features. He is currently working on analysis of spatial transcriptomic data.

Alex Soupir
is a Postdoctoral Research Fellow with joint time between the Wang and Fridley Labs at Moffitt Cancer Center. He received his Ph.D. in Biology – Microbiology from the Department of Natural Sciences at South Dakota State University. His current research involves working with liquid biopsies to identify cancer specific biomarkers. Additionally, he works on computational biology problems in cancer with the development of software and tools for data visualization and analysis.

OspinaThomas Watson graduated in 2018 from McKendree University with his B.S. in Mathematics, where he was named a charter member of Pi Mu Epsilon's Illinois Xi chapter. He is a student at the University of Kansas Medical Center pursuing his M.S. in Applied Statistics, Analytics, & Data Science, & expected to graduate in May of 2022. After obtaining his Ph.D., he is in hopes to make a career at Moffitt out of applying statistics to cancer research. Thomas is currently working with Alex Soupir on identifying racial disparities in immune response to prostate cancer.

Past Lab Members:


Jordan Creed, Moffitt Cancer Center Health Informatics Department

Farnoosh Abbas-Aghababazadeh, PhD: Princess Margret Cancer Center

Qian Li, PhD: University of South Florida

Prabhakar Chalise, PhD: University of Kansas Medical Center

Joseph Usset, PhD: Apple

Abra Brisbin, PhD: University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

Nicholas Larson, PhD: Mayo Clinic, Rochester

Ryan Abo, PhD: Ribon Therapeutics